Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of 7 elected and 8 appointed officers.

For the 2017-2018 term, they are:


Elected Officers

  • Rachel Flanagan

    President

    Serves as Chair of both the GSA Executive Committee and Council, oversees the direction of the organization and ensures the execution of its responsibilities and commitments.

    Rachel Flanagan (president@gsa.ucsd.edu): Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Vice President of Academic Affairs

    Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Academic and Judicial Committee and as a representative to the Graduate Council and Representative Assembly of the Academic Senate, coordinates the annual Ph.D. Career Conference in conjunction with the Career Services Center, and appoints students to campus-wide academic committees.

    VACANT (vpacademic@gsa.ucsd.edu):
  • Vice President of Financial Affairs

    Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Finance Committee and oversees the finances of GSA.

    Krish Bhutwala (vpfinance@gsa.ucsd.edu): Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Vice President of External Affairs

    Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Legislative Advocacy Committee, coordinates the regular lobby efforts of the organization, and oversees the work of the Legislative Liaisons.

    Victor Wang (vpexternal@gsa.ucsd.edu): Chemistry
  • Vice President of Campus Affairs

    Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Student Affairs Committee, works to improve various aspects of student life on campus, and appoints students to campus-wide committees dealing with such issues.

    Valerie Saiag (vpcampus@gsa.ucsd.edu): Latin American Studies
  • Sushil S.

    Vice President of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

    Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Diversity Advisory Council, oversees the organization's outreach efforts, and works in support of campus diversity.

    Sushil S. (vpdiversity@gsa.ucsd.edu): Public Health
  • Alex Whitehead

    Vice President of Social Affairs

    Serves as Vice Chair of the GSA Social Programming Committee, coordinates all GSA event planning, and works with the Social Coordinator to host GSA events.

    Alex Whitehead (vpsocial@gsa.ucsd.edu): Neuroscience

Appointed Officers

  • Legislative Liaison for State Affairs

    Develops legislative proposals and interacts with state and local representatives (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

    Ashley Schmidt (ca.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): GPS
  • Social Events Coordinator

    Organizes social programming, including happy hours (appointed by the VP Student and Campus Affairs).

    Mia Rosenfeld (social@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biophysics/Biochemistry
  • Legislative Liaison for National Affairs

    Develops legislative proposals, interacts with national representatives, and maintains relationships with NAGPS and SAGE (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

    Quynh Nguyen (us.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Biological Sciences
  • Cultural Events Coordinator

    Organizes cultural programming, including special event ticket sales (appointed by the VP of Social Affairs).

    Lim Leong (cultural@gsa.ucsd.edu): Psychology
  • Social Events Coordinator

    Organizes social programming, including happy hours (appointed by the VP Student and Campus Affairs).

    Jervaughn Hunter (social@gsa.ucsd.edu): Bioengineering
  • Chief of Staff

    Manages GSA council and appoints to committees. Acts as the liaison between the executives and council representatives (appointed by the President and VPs).

    Burgundy Fletcher (chief@gsa.ucsd.edu): Ethnic Studies
  • Community Outreach Coordinator

    Fosters relationships between graduate students at UCSD and the greater San Diego community, specifically those who belong to historically underrepresented and under-resourced communities in academia (appointed by the VP of EDI)

    (outreach@gsa.ucsd.edu):
  • Professional Development Coordinator

    Works with Grad Divison and the Career services center to host GrAdvantage events and the PhD Career Conference (appointed by the VP of Academic Affairs).

    (professional@gsa.ucsd.edu):
  • Parliamentarian

    Serves as the GSA Rules Officer in Council meetings

    Angus Chapman (parliamentarian@gsa.ucsd.edu): Psychology
  • Travel Grants Coordinator

    Manages and coordinates the GSA Travel Grants program.

    Li-Yuan Chiang (travel@gsa.ucsd.edu): Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Legislative Liaison for Local Affairs

    Develops legislative proposals and interacts with local representatives (appointed by the VP of External Affairs).

    Julia Adrian (sd.legislative@gsa.ucsd.edu): Cognitive Science

Representative(s)
Mark Derdzinski, Vladimir Jovanovic, Zihan Xu, Kimberly McCabe, Betty Ramirez, Melissa Vipperman-Cohen, Osinachi Ajoku, Hayley Weddle, Beverly French, Anupam Garg, Lynn Waterhouse, Michael Metke, Kim Clark, Nicole Hoffner, Tatiana Zavodny
Administrative Contact
Mark Derdzinski (GSA President)
Committee Category
GSA
Committee Status
Active