GSA 2017 Elections

A special election for the newly-defined role of VP Campus Affairs was held during Council Meeting #14 on May 22, 2017, during which Betty Ramirez was elected. Thank you to everyone who participated!

The following is a summary of the to-be-elected VP Campus duties for 2017-2018.

The Vice President of Campus Affairs shall:

  1. Oversee the execution of the Graduate Student Community Awards Reception in the Spring Quarter.
  2. Meet at least once per quarter with the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and report back to Council on the state of student affairs on campus.
  3. Oversee maintenance of GSA communication channels, e.g. discussion board for reps, GSA website, and email digest (which will include information about upcoming events, highlights from GSA execs, and submissions from the graduate and professional community)
  4. Advocate on behalf of graduate and professional students in regards to campus life issues.

Appoint to the following committees:

  • Well-being Cluster Student Advisory Board (WCSAB)
  • Transportation Policy Committee
  • Transportation Referendum Feasibility Report Committee (TRFR)
  • Campus/Community Planning Committee
  • Open Spaces
  • Restorative Justice Committee
  • Student Conduct Standards Group
  • Associated Residential Community Housing Advisory Committee (ARCHAC)
  • Coop Advisory Committee
  • Chemical and Surveillance Committee 



The election for 2017-2018 GSA Executive Committee officers was held on Monday, April 10, 2017.

List of elected Executive Committee members for 2017-2018


Mark Derdzinski

Vice President of Academic Affairs

Vladimir Jovanovic

Vice President of External Affairs

Kimberly McCabe

Vice President of Financial Affairs

Zihan Xu

Vice President of Student & Campus Affairs

Melissa Vipperman-Cohen

*Note: As of May 8, Melissa will be fulfilling the duties of the newly-created VP Social Affairs. A special election for the position of VP Campus Affairs will be held on May 22 (see information above).

Vice President of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Affairs

Osinachi Ajoku

Thank you to everyone who participated and was involved in this year’s election cycle! There were some great discussions and ideas about how to more effectively advocate for, support, and involve graduate students here at USCD and nationwide.

Want to get involved? GSA has numerous committees and appointments made by Executive Committee members, so consider taking one of these great opportunities to affect your graduate experience in a positive way!

Thank you for your time and involvement in the graduate community!

GSA 2017 Elections Committee